Apply to Become a COYAC Member Today!

As a member of COYAC you will have the opportunity to  learn about local government operations, develop public speaking and leadership skills, explore ideas and policy important to you and the youth of Colorado, and formally advise the Colorado State Legislature.

In order to be eligible, you must be between 14 and 19 years old and be enrolled in and attending a Colorado junior high, middle or high school, including an on- line school; participating in a nonpublic, home-based educational program; participating in a general equivalency degree program; or have obtained a high school or general equivalency diploma.

Expectations as a member

Members are expected to commit to two year terms and during that time, must develop and build a relationship with their Colorado state representative and/or senator.

There are four meetings throughout one term that you are required to attend. Three of the meetings are held on weekends. The final meeting is held during the weekday to allow you the opportunity to present to the Colorado State Legislature at our state’s capitol.

In between meetings, you must participate in online forums and discussions, conference calls, meetings with each other and members of the community. We need full participation in  between meetings so business matters can be taken care of by the full COYAC body.

Each COYAC member will serve on a policy committee. Policy committees fluctuate every year based on subjects that are relevant and timely to youth and the priorities of the state legislature.

Council members are also expected to gather input from other youth in their districts.

Application Process

The current vacant Senate Districts for the 2015-2016 COYAC year include:

1 (Eastern Colorado; Burlington)
3 (Pueblo)
5 (Poncha Springs, Salida)
8 (Garfield, Moffat, Routt, Jackson, Rio Blanco, Grand, and Summit Counties)
12 (Rural Colorado Springs, Fort Carson, Security-Widefield, Cimarron Hills, and Cheyenne Mountain)
13 (Greeley)
14 (Fort Collins)
20 (Jefferson County)
21 (Adams County including Commerce City, Federal Heights, Westminster and Unincorporated Adams County)
22 Lakewood
24 (Northwestern portion of Adams County including Westminster, Northglenn, and portions of Thornton)
25 (Eastern Adams County)
and 3 At-Large Positions
If you want to find out who your Colorado State Legislators are and which senate district you live in, go to, type in your home address and select State Legislative.

You can download the application below and either email your finished application in Word or PDF format to: Or mail the application to Engaged Public 1490 Lafayette St Suite 306 Denver, CO 80218.

The COYAC recruitment and membership committee will review your application and then send it out to the entire council for approval. You will hear back from us within two weeks of submitting your application.

The 2015/2016 council year will begin in early fall 2015. Please submit your applications as soon as possible to be considered for an open or at large position.

Download Application Here